by John Boch
In a recent meeting with some Illinois federally licensed gun dealers (now state-licensed as well), the Illinois State Police announced they would begin enforcing the “Section 24-4. Register of sales by dealer” under the Illinois Deadly Weapons statute.
This section of the 720 ILCS 5/24-4 requires gun dealers to record the date of the sale along with the name, address, age and occupation of the person to whom a handgun is sold/given. Furthermore, dealers must also record the price of the gun, the gun’s description and the purpose for which it is purchased.
Violation of this section is a Class B misdemeanor, and would also be a violation of the new Illinois Gun Dealer Licensing Act (GDLA). Violations of the new GDLA law are punishable with up to a $10,000 civil penalty for each violation.
So frankly, the trivial Class B misdemeanor penalties might pose the least of a dealer’s concerns. Especially since the dealer is also on the hook for that “up to $10,000 civil penalty” if an employee fails to record the purchaser’s occupation, the price paid and purpose for acquiring the handgun.
(720 ILCS 5/24-4) (from Ch. 38, par. 24-4)
Sec. 24-4. Register of sales by dealer.
(a) Any seller of firearms of a size which may be concealed upon the person, other than a manufacturer selling to a bona fide wholesaler or retailer or a wholesaler selling to a bona fide retailer, shall keep a register of all firearms sold or given away.
(b) Such register shall contain the date of the sale or gift, the name, address, age and occupation of the person to whom the weapon is sold or given, the price of the weapon, the kind, description and number of the weapon, and the purpose for which it is purchased and obtained.
(c) Such seller on demand of a peace officer shall produce for inspection the register and allow such peace officer to inspect such register and all stock on hand.
Violation of this Section is a Class B misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 77-2638.)