For Friday, July 18th, 2014 class:  Tuition is slashed for last-minute enrollees to $50.

That’s right:  For those with prior military service or Illinois State Police recognized training, you can pick up the final eight hours of training to get your concealed carry license for $50.

No pre-registration required.

Simply show up at 8:30 a.m. with 150 rounds of ammunition – or we have ammunition available for purchase at our cost ($60 for 150 rounds of centerfire or $15 for rimfire.).  Factory 9mm, .38 special or .22 long rifle if you want to use our loaner guns.

Lunch, materials, range fees and safety equipment are all provided at no additional cost.

Class will run from 9am to about 6pm.


DeWitt County Sportsmen’s Club

15423 State Highway 10

Clinton, IL 61727



The DCSC is located six miles east of the city limit of Clinton, IL on Route 10.  Be advised that Google Maps and GPS units are prone to take you everywhere except to the DCSC range.

The range property has an American flag flying and the clubhouse is a big, red barn.

Approaching from the east on Route 10, you’ll cross the southern-most part of the lake and less than a half-mile further on, you’ll come to the range on the north side of the road.

Approaching from the west, the club will be shortly after the gentle curve to the left.



GSL Defense Training’s Basic IL CCW 8-hour class

This Illinois State Police-approved course, taught by Illinois State Police-approved instructors, satisfies the final 8-hour training requirement to apply for an IL concealed carry license for those with 8-hours of ISP-recognized previous training credit.

Previous training credit options include:  Military service (with DD-214):  8-hours; NRA Basic Pistol or Personal Protection: 8-hours; IL Hunter’s Safety: 4-hours; FL, UT, NV, KY, MI, MO CCW classes: 4-hours each; Chicago Firearm Training: 4-hours.

Irrespective of any total over 8-hours of the above coursework, you can only claim 8-hours.

This eight-plus hour class will cover three plus hours of legal considerations (taught by real lawyers, not someone reading Power Point slides), roughly four hours of weapons handling (that’s handling real guns, not Airsoft replicas, plastic trainers or laser guns), both well in excess of that required by the Illinois State Police in the final 8-hour course.  We will fire roughly 100-120 rounds of ammunition, depending on time and class make-up.

Topics include the ISP-mandated minimums and much more, including:  Firearm safety, range safety, firearm and ammunition selection, gear selection and carry methods, building upon your body alarm reaction to build stance and grip, and some tactics.

On the range, we’ll practice the fundamentals of shooting, and revisit some basic tactics including communicating with bad guys, moving off the “X”, threat assessment, and as time and abilities allow, shooting from positions 2 and 3, shooting from a purse (primarily for the ladies, but men can try too) and malfunction clearing.


We will also shoot the state-required qualification, which is a full-sized B-27 target – roughly the size of Sasquatch minus some fur – at 5, 7, and 10 yards.

Students will need to bring 150 rounds of ammunition.  We have limited supplies of ammunition for students unable to secure ammunition ahead of class.  Calibers include .22, .380, 9mm, .38 Special, and .45 ACP.  Prices will vary according to our replacement costs.

Hours:  8:30 check-in.  Class 9am – 6:30pm

Tuition:  $150  $50. 

Registration includes lunch, drinks, range fees, safety equipment (as needed) and the GSL Defense Training course materials.


Loaner guns available – at no charge! These courses offer an opportunity to use one or more “loaner” guns to give you a chance to try out different types and models of guns to see which is the best fit and function for you before you buy your next gun.


6 thoughts on “PAID ADVERTISING: Eight-hour Illinois Concealed Carry class $50. Friday, July 18th. Clinton, IL”
  1. A question for (on behalf of) the active duty military: I am retired military and do have my DD-214. However, for those who are still active, they do not receive a DD-214 until separation/retirement. I do not recall what the CCW law, or the ISP’s interpretation, says about that.

    1. We’ll need to see your mil ID.

      ISP non-binding (as of now) rules say we’re supposed to keep a copy of your .mil ID, however that’s violation of federal law.

  2. Here is a quote found on the ISP Website.
    “Current military personnel will need to provide documentation identifying the holder as an active member of the US Armed Forces (CAC or DD Form 2 ID cards in green, blue, or red, for instance). Veterans will need to provide a copy of their DD-214 or NGB 22.”

  3. I’ve taken this course. These guys are awesome teachers. You will learn the law, you will learn safety, you will improve your skills and you will have a lot of fun. If you are thinking about taking a CCW 8 hour class – this is a great opportunity to get top- notch teaching for a bargain price. Also, tomorrow looks to be a really nice day to be outside. Take the day off, have some fun and tick off Bloomberg all at the same time.

  4. Thanks DM. We have a lot of fun with it and try to make it a good time for all involved.


  5. Even if you’ve gotten all your training, an 8 hour review with shooting would be a good bargain!

Comments are closed.